Founded in 1786, surveyor Samuel Holland named Murray Harbour after the Honourable James Murray (1725-94), Governor of Quebec (1764-66). The area, which was primarily settled by American Loyalists, the Guernsey Settlers, and English and Scottish immigrants, has a rich history steeped in shipbuilding, fishing, and farming.
An extensive history of the area, from pre-settlement to modern times, has been produced as part of the Murray Harbour-Murray River Island Narratives Program. The program also features a digital photo collection that provides a glimpse into our past.
Photo Credit: Island Narratives Digital Collection, courtesy of Carmen MacDonald.